Chorizo and Feta Frittata Fushion 


This morning Juliet woke up early full of giggles and her usual enigmatic personality. If you look out our window into our back yard you’ll see a sea of yellow from the fallen leaves off our maple and mulberry trees. In my case you’d see a yellow blur as that’s about all I see until I find my glasses. Luke was still fast asleep after a late night of uber driving so after my first cup of coffee my brain started working on a fun breakfast for us all for when he would wake up. 

We had Laura Cherry’s famous pancakes yesterday (I promise I will share this recipe at some point as well), and after days and day prior of scrambled eggs, I wanted to put a different twist on our typical morning meal. 

I started my bacon in the oven and Luke woke up just as Juliet and I headed out to give our previous day compost to our chickens in exchange for their eggs. Juliet thanked the chickens as I gathered eggs and Jameson got a good run in around the yard.
We headed back inside to find I misjudged my cooking time on the bacon. So Jameson got an extra crispy treat and I proceeded to dig out our only other defrosted meat in the fridge, chorizo.

Chorizo in New England is not quite like the Texas chorizo I am used to. We have tried out a few brands and this most recent one comes as close as any we have found so far. I scrubbed a potato and put it in some water to boil while I sautéed up the chorizo. Then I combined some eggs, yogurt, Feta and frozen corn in a bowl. I added everything to a round baking dish and threw it in the oven for 30ish mins on 350°.

The result was one of my favorite frittatas I’ve made so far! 

So good, in fact, I didn’t manage even one photo before the three of us finished up what ended up being more of a brunch than breakfast. So here is a non related picture of Juliet because she’s cute.


Here is the recipe! I hope you enjoy! Let me know if you try it out. Of course things can be added or subtracted to your liking, but this combo was super scrumptious for us!
Chorizo and Feta Frittata Fusion

Ingredients 

-1 medium potato
-1 link of chorizo sausage

-5-6 eggs

-1/2 plain yogurt or sour cream 

-1 cup crumbled feta

-1/2-1 cup organic frozen corn

Equipment 

  • Sauce pan
  • Sauté pan
  • Mixing bowl
  • Wisk or fork
  • Pie plate/casserole dish/baking dish of some sort

Directions

  1.  Fill a small sauce pan with enough water to cover your potato. 
  2. (If you prefer your potato peeled then peel it. I leave the peel on.) Bring potato and water to a boil and cook until potato is tender, or can easily be pierced with a fork. 
  3. Meanwhile sauté your chorizo until cooked through (if chorizo is precooked you can skip this step). 
  4. Heat oven to 350°
  5. Crack eggs into mixing bowl, and beat until everything is well mixed.
  6. Add yogurt and beat until incorporated (there may still be bits of yogurt that are not fully mixed in. This is fine.)
  7. Add feta and corn stir.
  8. Grease your baking dish or pie plate. (Anything that will allow the mixture to be about 1.5-2 in thick will work.)
  9. Cut potato into small 1/2 in pieces spread evenly in baking dish.
  10. Cut or crumble chorizo into 1 in pieces, spread evenly in baking dish. 
  11. Pour egg mixture over potatoes and chorizo.
  12. Place in preheated oven and cook for 25-30 minutes or until there is no “jiggle” if you give your dish a shake.
  13. Serve with a pie server and a side of your favorite hot sauce. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

